Kitchen Floor

My aunt Faye had given me some nice marble floor tile that I decided to use in the kitchen.  I spent an afternoon prepping the floor to ensure that it was level and smooth.  The next day I rented a wet saw from Home Depot and spent most of the day on my hands and knees on the floor installing the tile.  I had never done tiling before and it was not any fun at all.  The next day I was sore all over.

However, when I went back to the house I was not at all happy with the tile floor, it looked terrible.  So I tore it up and trashed it and spent another half day scraping and sanding the thin set adhesive off the floor to get it ready for laminate. Last autumn I had picked up some nice used laminate and that’s what I put in the kitchen.

It only took a couple of hours to lay out the pad and snap the laminate together and it looks great.  What a difference from installing the tile.  Once the laminate was in place I moved my kitchen cabinets in and screwed them to the wall.

I’d purchased unfinished cabinets from Home Depot and had been in the process of varnishing them.  As you can see in the pictures below, some of the cabinets hadn’t been varnished yet.

I wanted to take advantage of the under-the-cabinet space for additional storage so I built 5 drawers in the kick space under the cabinets.  You can see them in this first pic.

20150331_113349

20150331_113359

20150331_113405

After getting things in place and screwed in I spent some time varnishing.  Then worked on some shelves.  My cousin-in-law gave me a nice pine slab that I’m going to use as a dining table/work surface.

Pine Slab for dining table

Pine Slab for dining table

In it’s unworked state it is a bit over 10′ long and nearly 3′ wide at it’s widest point.  I’ve found a local shop that will plane it for me along with a walnut slab that a friend gave me that I’ll use as my desk top.

Once ready to install I plan to support the two ends of the slab on shelves.  Today I started the shelves on the kitchen end of the slab that butt up against the cabinet.

Shelves for under the dining table on the kitchen end

Shelves for under the dining table on the kitchen end

I’ll add another shelf in the middle next time I get to work on it.  The slab will rest on the top of the upper shelf.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

