The first wall

I had some great advice today from family and friends that came by to check my sanity.  Thanks Jen & Steve, Barry & Barbi for the help and advice.  We did a “walk through” of the house and they helped me figure out window and door placements which I needed to finalize before I started framing the walls.

So I had a few hours left this afternoon after the “walk through” (and we all went and had a leisurely lunch together) and I managed to get the first wall framed and up.

WallFromWest

I set-up a “stud cutting jig” with my chop saw so that I didn’t have to measure or mark any except the first stud.  I could just lay the 2×4 across the chop saw and push it down to the stop at the left end and cut.  Made for fast cutting of the studs.

StudJig4

I also pre-drilled all the studs for to run my electrical wiring…figured it was easier to drill them on the drill press before they became part of the wall then to do it later when they were in place.

WiringHoles

I’ve got about 1/2 day to spend on the house tomorrow and hope to get at the other two kitchen/bathroom walls up.

WallFromEast

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

