Welcome to my blog

A number of years ago when my ex & I separated I rented a very small apartment.  I was pleasantly surprised at how much free time I had because I could clean the entire place, top to bottom, in less than an hour.  Since then I’ve lived in two other small apartments and have grown to love living in a small space.

Getting rid of excess possessions wasn’t a problem either…in the divorce she got custody of most of the assets, I got custody of the debt and debt doesn’t take up much space.  It turns out that with only a few pieces of furniture and other odds and ends I can easily live in a small space.

In addition, I don’t want to feel like I have to work constantly just to pay my mortgage and living expenses.  I’d like to be free to work when I want, and as little as I want.

I did consider putting up a Yurt as my living space, but finally settled on building a tiny house on a trailer—or rather, an “almost” tiny house on a trailer. I say “almost” because most of these tiny houses are built on a 20’ trailer. My house needs space for my collection of guitars and other instruments, which I did get custody of, a small portable washing machine (I use a clothes line as a dryer), and visits from my kids and grand kids.  My “almost” tiny house will be built on a 36’ trailer to give me the extra space I’m looking for.

The image on the front page of this blog is a rough up of my design using Google Sketch-up.  In addition to the first floor as shown, I plan on a sleeping loft over the bathroom and part of the kitchen area and another loft over the porch and a bit of the living room area for storage and as a guest room.

I hope to move in before the Winter season of 2013/2014. I’m just getting started on building my “almost” tiny house and I’ll be using this blog to document the process with video and pictures.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Welcome to my blog

  1. Nice project! Seems like your take on the Shotgun house vernacular.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

